Image

Corkboard Redesign

21 Mar

I picked up a very boring cork board at a thrift store for a few bucks, and after having it sit in my office forever, I finally decided it was time for a makeover!

Boring corkboard: Before

Corkboard: After

After a coat of primer and two coats of paint, the frame was done! Then I found some amazing fabric at one of my favorite fabric stores, Fancy Tiger Crafts in Denver.

I decided to have it match this corner shelf unit that I (ahem, I mean, my husband) repainted last summer in marigold and light yellow. I use it to store all my finished bibs and I LOVE the pop of color it gives to my work space!I am so happy with how it all turned out and how easy it was – now I’m on the hunt for another corkboard so I can make one for my kitchen! I forgot to take pictures of how I did it, but it’s easy to explain! I took the cork board apart (there were about a million tiny screws holding it together in the back!). Then I primed and painted the frame. Once that was dry, I cut a piece of fabric about 1″ longer and 1″ taller than the cork board. I used a regular stapler to staple the fabric around the cork board, upholstery style. You could also probably use a hot glue gun. Then I reassmbled everything!

Happy crafting!

jesi

4 Responses to “Corkboard Redesign”

  1. Gretchen Moore March 21, 2012 at 11:20 pm #

    Love this!!! you have inspired me to do the same!!

  2. hipviolet March 21, 2012 at 11:25 pm #

    Hurray, Gretchen! It was SO easy I wish I had done it sooner! And obviously you know if you see another cheap cork board at the thrift shop, pick one up for me!

  3. Erin Shumaker March 22, 2012 at 2:59 am #

    I have one in my kitchen that I’ve been meaning to find fabric for. Maybe tomorrow will be the day! Love the yellow & pink. Super cute!

    • hipviolet March 22, 2012 at 3:00 am #

      Thanks Erin! Of course half the fun is picking out the fabric – have fun!

Leave a Reply

