Decoupaged Lamp & Button Shade

18 Apr

My daughter has always had this very boring lamp in her room, so the other day we decided it was high time we jazzed it up to fit her more colorful personality!

The lamp: Before

We got out the Mod Podge, a container to pour it in, some paint brushes, and I raided my fabric scrap bins and let her pick out her favorites.

Luckily I have a ton of “bib neck hole” sized scraps which work perfectly for decoupage. I cut them into squares and then a few in half again on the diagonal so we had some triangles too.

Although we started out painting the Mod Podge on, it was getting old fast AND her arm started to hurt. So we did what we do best… got messy!

Yep, hands work MUCH better to move all that glue around!

Almost done! Oh, I should mention that I LOVE the Dollar Tree for all sorts of things, but especially their $1 vinyl table cloths. We have one in the kitchen drawers for crafts, it makes clean-up very, very easy and makes me more likely to let my girls do messy crafts!

Now that the lamp base was finished and drying, we took the shade off.

And started hot gluing buttons on it!

It was her idea to put the little white buttons on top of the pink ones – I think that was an excellent idea!Finished product!

Have you done any fun projects with your kids recently? I would love to hear about them!

2 Responses to “Decoupaged Lamp & Button Shade”

  1. feistyowlstudio April 18, 2012 at 3:06 am #

    Love this! I can’t wait until my little one is old enough to do crafts with : )

    • hipviolet April 19, 2012 at 2:23 am #

      It is REALLY fun to do crafts with your kids! As long as you lower your expectations of how perfect the final product will be 🙂 Still working on that!

Leave a Reply

